ISTQB too much?

As I’m going on several job interviews these days, naturally ISTQB comes up. Recruiters, managers often asks why I didn’t do it, I say I will not spend my own money on it as I never really saw anyone applying this knowledge in their daily work.

Then they say, yeah-yeah, but it’ good because it:

– gives the co-workers a common vocabulary.
– test cases built on them makes it easier for new colleagues to know what should be done.

What’s your come-back on these arguments?

Some answer I found since then:
https://promptest.wordpress.com/2015/12/13/istqb-too-much-and-now-the-answers/

2 thoughts on “ISTQB too much?

  1. erikhun

    Hello Rosie,

    I read your article, really liked it. I’m really-really disappointed how no head-hunter I met (10-15 of them) knew no-thing about testing. But maybe I was just naive? Rob also wrote about this, about being a niche.
    http://thesocialtester.co.uk/how-to-work-with-recruiters-to-hire-testers/
    http://thesocialtester.co.uk/10-ways-to-hire-niche-employees/
    If I’m looking for something niche, I shouldn’t be surprised that the mainstream cannot satisfy that?

    Well, on other parts of the story, if you mean ideas on changing the overwhelming ISTQB presence, oh, I really don’t know. I still have too much to learn, and I haven’t had so far a boss or an org that emphasized very structured/formalized factory testing. They simply didn’t care too much about testing. So I don’t feel prepared enough yet to “fight” them : ) Right now I’m just educating myself so I can talk and argue with whoever wants to talk about testing. I also see a lot of times that even the testers who claim to use their ISQTB knowledge often do so many other things in their session. They just don’t realize it. So, one way for sure is show them what’s really going on when testing.

    Hmmm.., is this anything like you meant to ask? : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

